Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Mythopoeic Awards 2011

The 2011 Mythopoeic Award finalists were announced on May 17th.  

According to their website:

"The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2010 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings." 

"The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger 
readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia."

What is an Inkling?  Authors such as J. R. R. TolkienC. S. Lewis, and others met for a literary discussion group that focused on Fantasy writing.  The Mythopoeic Awards honor both adult and children's books that are written in this genre.  

"The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon XLII, to be held from July 15-18, in Albuquerque, New Mexico."

Good Luck Catherine Fisher!  

No comments:

Post a Comment