Saturday, January 17, 2015

The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The audiobook version of The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, read by Will Patton, was an amazing listening experience. I enjoyed this book so much, I immediately purchased the text version so I could read it again myself. Stiefvater is a writer- wholly and truly. This story flowed flawlessly and I was captivated by Stiefvater's wit, humor, and talent for detail.

The Raven Boys takes place in a modern day Henrietta, VA. Blue Sargent, the female protagonist, is the only child of a for-real psychic and the only non-psychic member of an all psychic family. Every member of Blue's family has foreseen that if Blue ever kisses her true love, he will die. Trippy.

The Raven Boys are a group of (mostly) wealthy high school boys who attend an exclusive and prestigious college preparatory school called Aglionby Academy. These are the kinds of boys Blue avoids like the plague. However, not every boy at Aglionby fits the shallow, egotistical stereotype that Blue has boxed them in to.

Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah are Raven Boys who have a very strange passion. They want to discover a spiritual ley line in Henrietta and wake the spirit of a dead Welsh king. That doesn't exactly sound like a typical Country Club activity. So, of course, a group of boys obsessed with the paranormal will cross paths with the daughter of a psychic...especially when they seek out psychic advice for their supernatural quest...

The Raven Boys is the first of a quartet called The Raven Cycle. Stiefvater weaves a tale full of mystery, emotion, and wonder. You will fall in love with the exquisitely developed characters in this well-told story.

Five out of five stars. Ages 14+ because of language (but I would let MY kids read this in Middle School).

No comments:

Post a Comment