Saturday, July 16, 2016

Scrivener's Moon

Scrivener's Moon (Fever Crumb, #3)Scrivener's Moon by Philip Reeve

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This third installment of the Fever Crumb series deconstructs all preconceived ideas the reader may have had for the direction of Fever's life and builds new hopes in a more favorable path for Fever to follow. Fever redefines her concepts of love, lust, loyalty, and morality. She learns that each person has to determine what is right for them and that our parents can be as lost on their path as anyone. She also learns the secret of her biology and the history of the Scriven Race.

This story takes Fever and Wavey Godshawk into the far North in search of knowledge about the Scriven Race that may lie hidden in an ancient pyramid. Unfortunately, they are met with battle instead. The Nomadic Tribes of the North are bent on war with the London Machine and Wavey and Fever become caught in the crossfires.

All bets are off in Scrivener's Moon. Forget any concepts of "Good Guys" and "Bad Guys" because they are all challenged. Power, greed and ignorance lead the people of the world into war, and Fever no longer knows or accepts where she is supposed to fit in among all the warring factions.

Her very identity is questioned and redefined.

Fever matures greatly in this story. She sheds the juvenile need to compartmentalize people, and ideologies. She develops the courage to define her world in a way that suits her principles.

A fourth book is definitely due and, I believe, it will have a revolutionary role for our young Heroine.

Recommended for ages 13+.

Friday, July 15, 2016

The Raven King

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Raven King is the 4th and final installation of Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Cycle.

Rarely do I read a book that pulls me in so completely. If you told me I could pack my things and move in to 300 Fox Way, I wouldn't hesitate. If only such a world could be: Psychics that actually have ability; land that actually thrums with magickal energy; everyday people who can Scry, manifest dream objects, or command magickal entities with intentional thought! I am smitten with the world of the Raven Cycle.

The characters of this series are intoxicating.  Blue Sargent is one of my favorite female protagonists. She is strong, relatively secure, and layered. She loves without sacrificing her identity. She is loyal and just. All of the Raven Boys have my heart: Gansey for honoring his truth, Adam for his willingness to evolve, Ronan for his bravery to love in the face of so much loss, and Noah for holding on to life with all that is left in him. Even Henry, a recent addition to the crew, has charmed me with his honest search for friendship. What I love best about the characters is that they can ebb and flow between good and evil- sometimes landing firmly on one side or the other- but usually choosing which side of the spectrum to be closest to through their choices. Even those who have done unspeakable things can find redemption.

What is this series about? You could say it is about the quest to find an ancient Welsh King. You could say it is about magic and curses and destiny. You could say it is about romance and friendship, betrayal and forgiveness, growth and maturity. But ultimately, it is about
manifesting your dreams.

The Raven Cycle is about being true to your core whether that means to defy expectations and chase your survive abuse with the strength to strive for allow yourself to love despite the cruelty of the world...or to face what you are given in life and not be afraid to demand more.

Keep dreaming, Maggie Stiefvater, your work is enchanting!

Recommended for ages 13+.